Gold Sponsors
Department of Systems Engineering and Engineering Managment, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Silver Sponsors

Bronze Sponsors

Chinese and Oriental Languages Information Processing Society (COLIPS)


Thailand Convention and Exhibition Bureau (TCEB)


Asian Federation of Natural Language Processing (AFNLP)
National Electronics and Computer Technology Center (NECTEC), Thailand
Sirindhorn International Institute of Technology (SIIT), Thailand
Rajamangala University of Technology Lanna (RMUTL), Thailand
Chiangmai Rajabhat University, Thailand
Chiang Mai University (CMU), Thailand

Call for Papers

The 5th International Joint Conference on Natural Language Processing (IJCNLP2011)
November 8-13, 2011
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Mirror Site:

The 5th International Joint Conference on Natural Language Processing, organized by the Asian Federation of Natural Language Processing will be held in Chiang Mai, Thailand on November 8-13, 2011. The conference will cover a broad spectrum of technical areas related to natural language and computation. IJCNLP 2011 will include full papers, short papers, oral presentations, poster presentations, demonstrations, tutorials, and workshops.


IJCNLP 2011 invites the submission of papers on original and unpublished research on all aspects of language processing and computational linguistics,including, but not limited to:

  • Phonology/morphology, tagging and chunking, and word segmentation
  • Grammar induction and development
  • Parsing algorithms and implementations
  • Mathematical linguistics and grammatical formalisms
  • Lexical and ontological semantics
  • Formal semantics and logic
  • Word sense disambiguation
  • Semantic role labeling
  • Textual entailment and paraphrasing
  • Discourse, dialogue, and pragmatics
  • Language generation
  • Summarization
  • Machine translation
  • Information retrieval
  • Information extraction
  • Sentiment analysis and opinion mining
  • Question answering
  • Text mining and natural language processing applications
  • NLP in vertical domains, such as biomedical, chemical and legal text
  • NLP on noisy unstructured text, such as email, blogs, and SMS
  • Spoken language processing
  • Speech recognition and synthesis
  • Spoken language understanding and generation
  • Language modeling for spoken language
  • Multimodal representations and processing
  • Rich transcription and spoken information retrieval
  • Speech translation
  • Statistical and machine learning methods
  • Language modeling for text processing
  • Lexicon and ontology development
  • Treebank and corpus development
  • Evaluation methods and user studies
  • Science of annotation

Important Dates

June 02, 2011 Submission deadline (new)
July 22, 2011 Notification of acceptance
September 02, 2011 Camera-ready submission (new)
October 01, 2011 Early Registration Deadline
November 09 - 11, 2011 Conference period


Submissions must describe substantial, original, completed and unpublished work. Wherever appropriate, concrete evaluation and analysis should be included. Submissions will be judged on correctness, originality, technical strength, significance, relevance to the conference, and interest to the attendees. Each submission will be reviewed by at least three reviewers.

Full papers may consist of up to eight (8) pages of content, plus one extra page for references, and will be presented orally or as a poster presentation as determined by the program committee. Short paper should not exceed four (4) pages of main text. Up to two (2) additional pages may be used for references only (appendices count against the four pages, not the additional one page), will also be accepted for review at the same submission deadline, appropriate for more focused results or promising work in progress. The decisions as to which papers will be presented orally and which as poster presentations will be based on the nature rather than on the quality of the work. There will be no distinction in the proceedings between full papers presented orally and those presented as poster presentations.

Paper submissions should follow the two-column format of IJCNLP, conforming to the LaTex or Microsoft Word style available on the conference website and conforming to the instructions to authors found there. Submissions must be electronic in PDF.

As the reviewing will be blind, the paper must not include the authors' names and affiliations. Furthermore, self-references that reveal the author's identity, e.g., "We previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...", must be avoided. Instead, use citations such as "Smith previously showed (Smith, 1991) ...". Papers that do not conform to these requirements will be rejected without review.

Multiple-submission policy

Papers that have been or will be submitted to other meetings or publications must provide this information at submission time. If IJCNLP 2011 accepts a paper, authors must notify the program chairs by August 5, indicating which meeting they choose for presentation of their work. IJCNLP 2011 cannot accept for publication or presentation work that will be (or has been) published elsewhere.

Organizing Committee

Honorary Conference Chair
Chaiyong Eurviriyanukul (Rajamangala University of Technology Lanna, Thailand)
Chongrak Polprasert (Sirindhorn International Institute of Technology, Thailand)
Thaweesak Koanantakool (NSTDA, Thailand)
General Chair
Kam-Fai Wong (Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
Program Co-Chairs
Haifeng Wang (Baidu, China)
David Yarowsky (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
Organisation Co-Chairs
Virach Sornlertlamvanich (NECTEC, Thailand)
Hitoshi Isahara (Toyohashi University of Technology, Japan)
Workshop Co-Chairs
Sivaji Bandyopadhyay (Jadavpur University, India)
Jong Park (KAIST, Korea)
Noriko Kando (NII, Japan)
Tutorial Co-Chairs
Kentaro Inui (Tohoku University, Japan)
Wei Gao (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
Dawei Song (Robert Gordon University, UK)
Demonstration Co-Chairs
Ken Church (John Hopkins University, USA)
Yunqing Xia (Tsinghua University, China)
Publication Co-Chairs
Min Zhang (I2R, Singapore)
Sudeshna Sarkar (IIT Kharagpur, India)
Finance Co-Chairs
Vilas Wuwongse (AIT, Thailand)
Gary Lee (POSTECH, Korea)
Sponsorship Co-Chairs
Asanee Kawtrakul (Kasetsart University, Thailand)
Methinee Sirikrai (NECTEC, Thailand)
Hiromi Nakaiwa (NTT, Japan)
Publicity Committee
Steven Bird (University of Melbourne, Australia)
Le Sun (CIPS, China)
Kevin Knight (USC, USA)
Nicoletta Calzolari (Istituto di Linguistica Computazionale del CNR,Italy)
Thanaruk Theeramunkong (SIIT, Thailand)
Swit Phuvipadawat (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
Wirat Chinnan, (SIIT, Thailand)

Local Organizers

National Electronics and Computer Technology Center (NECTEC, Thailand)
Sirindhorn International Institute of Technology (SIIT), Thammasat University
Chiang Mai University (CMU, Thailand)

More Information

Any question can be sent to process, e-mail: